Need help with a broken ForEach

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dave Wyatt Dave Wyatt 3 years, 1 month ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Mark Anderson
    Mark Anderson
    Participant

I am attempting to write a script that takes a list of IP address's, finds alive hosts, then checks to make sure that a specific service is installed. If the service is NOT installed it should be adding the IP address to the $notinstalled array. This is not working as I thought it should.

Could someone tell me what I am doing wrong in that specific ForEach section? This script is a learning / work in progress as I have never written a powershell script before.

I have attached the entire script, such as it is.

Thanks.

Try
    {
    ForEach ($entry in $alivehosts){
    	$svc = Get-Service -Display $sname -ComputerName $entry -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    	IF( -not $sname) {$notinstalled += $entry}
    	else { $sname + " is installed on " + $entry}
    	}

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

You're checking $sname. I don't see you defining it anywhere.

If the service doesn't exist, $svc would be null. $sname presumably contains the name of the service you're looking for. It'll never be empty.

Profile photo of Dave Wyatt
    Dave Wyatt

if (-not $sname) is never going to be True; $sname is a string you've defined. I assume you meant to do if (-not $svc) in that conditional.

Profile photo of Mark Anderson
    Mark Anderson
    Participant

***Pounds head on desk***

Can't believe I did that. ($sname VS $svc)

Is it kosher to ask why the try-catch-finally is only catching and logging one error? Do I have to do a ForEach for each error?

Thanks!

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

Well, you've suppressed the error by using -EA SilentlyContinue. You have to use -EA Stop to trigger Try/Catch. See our free ebook on error handling – under the "Resources" menu on the site.