Newbie looking for some help…Get-ADComputer

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Newbie looking for some help…Get-ADComputer

Viewing 22 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 1
      Replies: 9

Hi, I have a task to look for computers in all 25 different computer OUs for computers with no description and then email the result per each OU to 25 different people. I am a total newbie in PS and just took a PS class recently.  Below is what I have.  I run the “Get-ADComputer” 25 times and then has a 25 Send email steps below (each to be sent to different people).  This is way overkill.  I’ve looked at the “For each object” command and try creating script for it but don’t know how i can have it loop and run each ou  and then create 25 files to email each person.

THIS IS THE SCRIPT (I cut off all the repetitive lines) and sub some of generic names into the fields.

REPEAT 23 MORE TIMES

REPEAT EMAIL STEPS 23 MORE TIMES WITH DIFFERENT MAILTO

#THIS IS THE SCRIPT when I try using the ForEach -Object loop.  It runs and then grabs all 25 different OUS and creates one txt #file but I want 25 different files so I can email the 25 different individuals

This just outputs everything into 1 file.

• This topic was modified 1 month ago by grokkit. Reason: code formatting
      Participant
      Topics: 5
      Replies: 170
      Helping Hand

Move your pipe to Out-File inside the Foreach-Object loop and make the filename a variable so it can change each iteration.

Participant

Sorry, not sure how to make a filename with variable.  I’ve added some more to the script.  When it prompts for site name.  Let’s say I enter USA then when I run the script it runs all 25 OU’s but just gives me one text file “USA_10-29_2020_nodescription.txt”.  I need 25 different files.  One UK_10-29_2020_nodescription.txt”, one Paris_10-29_2020……etc.  The “read-host” is probably useless here.

$date = Get-Date -format MM_dd_yyyy
      $siteName = Read-Host “Enter the site name”