Null-Valued Expression Error

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Don Jones 2 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

Ave Stuart
    Participant

Hello All,

I'm very new to Powershell and am trying to execute some code which will remove commas from certain fields in a CSV file, then output the result back to a file. While my script does generate the following error, it still does finish and create a new file when I run it from the Powershell ISE. However, I need to run this from a SQL job agent (i'm a data guy) and the error actually stops the job.

There error is here:

You cannot call a method on a null-valued expression.
    At line:9 char:9
    + if ($i.Community_Name.split(',')[1])
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : InvalidOperation: (:) [], RuntimeException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : InvokeMethodOnNull

[b]My code i'm running is here:[/b]

$array = Import-Csv -Path D:\DataExtracts\HolidayPricing\holiday.csv | Select UniqueID,Community_Name,Company_Number,LastUpdated,UnitType,MinStartMarketRate

$finalarray = @()

Foreach ($i in $array)
    {
    $newobject = New-Object System.Object
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'Unique ID' -Value $i.UniqueID
    if ($i.Community_Name.split(',')[1])
    {
    $formatted = $i.Community_Name.split(',')[0] + ';' + $i.Community_Name.split(',')[1]
    }
    else
    {
    $formatted = $i.Community_Name.split(',')[0]
    }
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'Community_Name' -Value $formatted
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'Company_Number' -Value $i.Company_Number
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'LastUpdated' -Value $i.LastUpdated
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'UnitType' -Value $i.UnitType
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'MinStartMarketRate' -Value $i.MinStartMarketRate
    $finalarray += $newobject
    }