Null-Valued Expression Error

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Don Jones Don Jones 1 year, 9 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Ave Stuart
    Ave Stuart
    Participant

Hello All,

I'm very new to Powershell and am trying to execute some code which will remove commas from certain fields in a CSV file, then output the result back to a file. While my script does generate the following error, it still does finish and create a new file when I run it from the Powershell ISE. However, I need to run this from a SQL job agent (i'm a data guy) and the error actually stops the job.

There error is here:

You cannot call a method on a null-valued expression.
    At line:9 char:9
    + if ($i.Community_Name.split(',')[1])
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : InvalidOperation: (:) [], RuntimeException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : InvokeMethodOnNull

[b]My code i'm running is here:[/b]

$array = Import-Csv -Path D:\DataExtracts\HolidayPricing\holiday.csv | Select UniqueID,Community_Name,Company_Number,LastUpdated,UnitType,MinStartMarketRate

$finalarray = @()

Foreach ($i in $array)
    {
    $newobject = New-Object System.Object
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'Unique ID' -Value $i.UniqueID
    if ($i.Community_Name.split(',')[1])
    {
    $formatted = $i.Community_Name.split(',')[0] + ';' + $i.Community_Name.split(',')[1]
    }
    else
    {
    $formatted = $i.Community_Name.split(',')[0]
    }
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'Community_Name' -Value $formatted
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'Company_Number' -Value $i.Company_Number
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'LastUpdated' -Value $i.LastUpdated
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'UnitType' -Value $i.UnitType
    $newobject | Add-Member -Type NoteProperty -Name 'MinStartMarketRate' -Value $i.MinStartMarketRate