Output with Invoke-Command

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Output with Invoke-Command

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
1 month, 1 week ago.

• Author

Participant

Hello,

Powershell noob here. Have a question regarding the output when you invoke a scriptblock with Invoke-Command.

I am trying to do bulk password resets with names stored in an array and passing that array through a foreach loop to Set-ADAccountPassword. If I run this command, my write-host outputs that only the first name in the array had the password changed. But if I run this same code directly from the DC, it correctly says that all the users passwords have been changed.

Is this simply an output issue with Write-Host when using Invoke-Command? Or is really only 1 of the users named being passed across to the other machine?

Thanks!

$UserN = @("one","two","three","four")
    $Cred = ....

Invoke-Command -ComputerName XXX.XX.XX.XX -Credential $Cred -ArgumentList $UserN `
    -ScriptBlock{
         param($UserN) 
    foreach ($user in $UserN){
    Set-ADAccountPassword -Identity $user -Reset -NewPassword (ConvertTo-SecureString -AsPlainText "XXXXXX" -Force)
    Write-Host "`nPassword changed for $user!" -ForegroundColor Yellow 
    }
    }

Team Member

It looks like you are running / invoke that on a remote machine?

Do you have PowerShell v3 or newer?

$UserN = "one", "two", "three", "four"
    $Cred  = 'P@ssw0rd'

Invoke-Command -ComputerName XXX.XX.XX.XX -Credential $Cred -ScriptBlock {
        foreach ($user in $using:UserN) {
            Set-ADAccountPassword -Identity $user -Reset -NewPassword (ConvertTo-SecureString -AsPlainText "XXXXXX" -Force) -verbose
        }
    }

Participant

@alexw : Yes, I should have clarified. I am using Invoke-Command to invoke on a remote machine which is also on another domain. Yes latest PS versions are installed.