Password Needs To Be Manually Set After New-Mailbox cmdlet

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Forums Archives 5 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

by djangomonk at 2012-10-18 22:15:37

Hi,

I'm new to PowerShell and I'm facing this issue when I create a new Mailbox.

I have 2 sets of Code Blocks and immaterial of which code block I execute I still have to manually reset the password in ADUC before I can login as that user in OWA.

Please let me know where I'm going wrong.

I'm logged into the PowerShell Console as the Domain Administrator
    Exchange 2007
    PowerShell Version
    [size=85]Name : PSVersion
    Value : 2.0
    Name : BuildVersion
    Value : 6.1.7601.17514
    [/size]

Thanks,
    Sree

The 2 Code Blocks are Pasted below for your perusal.

### Code Block Number 1 ###
    ###
    $First_Name = Read-Host "Enter First Name "
    $Last_Name = Read-Host "Enter Last Name "
    $Display_Name = $First_Name + " " + $Last_Name
    $Account_Name = $First_Name.Substring(0,1).ToLower() + $Last_Name.ToLower()
    $OrgUnit = "OU=UsersEmp,OU=TestUsers,DC=TestDomain,DC=com"
    $MailStore = "TESTEXCH1\Employees"
    $Passwd = ConvertTo-SecureString -String "P@ssw0rd" -AsPlainText -Force
    New-Mailbox -FirstName $First_Name -LastName $Last_Name -Name $Display_Name -DisplayName $Display_Name -OrganizationalUnit $OrgUnit -Password $Passwd -Database $MailStore -SamAccountName $Account_Name -UserPrincipalName $Account_Name"@ikanos.com" -ResetPasswordOnNextLogon $true
    ###
    ### Code Block Number 2 ### - Only Change is in the $Passwd line (Line Number: 19) ###
    $First_Name = Read-Host "Enter First Name "
    $Last_Name = Read-Host "Enter Last Name "
    $Display_Name = $First_Name + " " + $Last_Name
    $Account_Name = $First_Name.Substring(0,1).ToLower() + $Last_Name.ToLower()
    $OrgUnit = "OU=TestUsers,DC=TestDomain,DC=com"
    $MailStore = "TESTEXCH1\Employees"