Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Pipeline input by property name

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by

js

Participant
2 weeks, 3 days ago.

• Author

Participant

Hi,

I've been using PowerShell for around 4 years but this week for the first time I'm attending some classroom training and I came across some behaviour that we couldn't explain completely.
    The exercise was based around creating a calculated property in order for it to be accepted through the pipeline as input for the next cmdlet.

This is the example given, and it works but in my understanding it should not

Get-AdComputer -filter * | select @{n='ComputerName'; e={$_.name}} | Get-Service -name *

I'm basing my assumption that it should not work on this line

Get-Adcomputer -filter * | select @{n='ComputerName'; e={$_.name}} | Get-Service

I understand that the property name needs changed to match the accepted parameter on Get-Service, hence the calculated property. Also that it effectively adds "-Computername [value]" invisibly when it runs Get-Service, for each iteration. However, in the second line of code the object type that comes over the pipe is an ADComputer object and so will not be accepted by Get-Service. I verified this using Get-Member.

The first line of code, given in the course material works fine. It's like in the first example the ADComputer object is being expanded out to the strings it contains and in the second, it is not. The only difference is the "-name *" which refers to the service name and as I understand it should have no effect.

Normally I would ignore this and find another way to write the code but this is purely an academic question because I'm looking for a deeper understanding. Have I understood this incorrectly? Is it a bug? Something to do with positional parameters? Ghosts?

Thanks in advance

Participant