Please explain behavior

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Bob McCoy Bob McCoy 8 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Jay Q
    Jay Q
    Participant

I'm very new to powershell and am writing a script to reboot our Citrix XenApp servers. I think I'm doing everything well, but am getting stuck in one part and can't really understand.

So the script will go and query a workergroup to get all the servers on the workergroup, it will then change the logon to Prohibit logons until a restart.
    It then selects all the servers with a zero load and bulk reboot them.

I want to put a time-freeze so that it will run again in about 5 hours.
    This time, I want to select all the servers from that same workergroup with -eq logon prohibited with a zero load. But upon sending the reboot command prior, the servers that have a load upon the first initial reboot, they change the logon state to "Allowlogon" without rebooting the server. HELP

I'm attaching my little script below.

Add-PSSnapin CITRIX*

#select servers
    $InitialReboot = Get-XAWorkerGroupServer -computername name -WorkerGroupName reboot-every2days

#disable login
    $InitialReboot | Set-XAServerLogOnMode -LogOnMode ProhibitNewLogOnsUntilRestart

#reboot servers with 0 load
    $InitialReboot | Get-XAServerLoad -ComputerName name | where load -eq 0
    Restart-Computer $InitialReboot.servername -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue

#second reboot – five hours later
    $CycleReboot = Get-XAWorkerGroupServer -ComputerName name -WorkerGroupName reboot-every2days | get-xaserver | Where-Object {$_.logonmode -eq "prohibitlogons"}