PowerShell Beginner Intro, and Assist Request

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Forums Archives Forums Archives 5 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

by Shaun_Ketterman at 2013-04-17 05:04:13

Hello Folks,

My name, as you may have guessed, is Shaun Ketterman. I am currently serving as an IT in the US Navy, stationed in Misawa, Japan. Not too bad of a gig, friendly people, amazing food, and it feels 'clean'. On an exiting note (for me), I've got a daughter on the way who is due in a few days time, can't wait! I'm also a student at ECPI College of Technology, and I heard of powershell.org through the instructor of the class I am currently taking (Network Administrative Scripting), so I figured it would be in my extreme benefit to create an account and attempt to get my learn on. I was hoping to at least engage in some conversation prior to calling out for help, but I'm having a little more trouble with PowerShell than I thought I would. I've been racking my brain on a single assignment for the last 6 hours, and I'm frustrated to the point that I want to break my keyboard lol. Anyways, any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

The task is to create a simple script that displays my OS, Service Pack, CPU, and free space on my C: drive. I'm fairly certain I've got the syntax down, but there are some minor issues I can't work out.

I've tried 2 methods so far. The first, was to create a variable for each object I need (OS, CPU, etc), then add those variables as the elements in an assoiative array.

My code for this option is (saved as shaun.ps1):

# Create a variable for the Operating System
    $os = gwmi win32_operatingsystem | select -property name

# Create a variable for the Service Pack
    $servicepack = gwmi win32_operatingsystem | select -property servicepackmajorversion

# Create a variable for the CPU
    $CPU = gwmi win32_processor | select -property name

# Create a variable for the HDD free space