PowerShell GUI for Discrete Device Assignment (DDA)

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Olaf Soyk 2 months ago.

• Author

Anonymous

Hi @all,

I am new to PowerShell. However, I have planned a project, which is not quite so easy for a beginner. It is about creating a PowerShell GUI for Discrete Device Assignment (DDA). I've been working on it a little longer and it's going almost as intended. However, the last two commands, which are the main feature of the DDA, do not work.
    The two commands that don't work require a single string in $Locationpath, but it is a string array for me and therefore the commands don't work correctly.
    My problem is that I don't know how to change the string array into the right string, so the code does what it's supposed to do.
    I MUST finish the script today. It'd be great if any of you guys can help me who know more than I do.
    That would be great.
    Here are the lines of the code that contains the error:

$StartButton.Add_Click(
    {
    $vm = $objComboBox1.SelectedItem
    $device = $objComboBox2.SelectedItem
    $dev = Get-PnpDevice -PresentOnly | ?{$_.FriendlyName -eq $device}
    $locationPath = Get-PnpDevice -presentOnly | ?{$_.FriendlyName -eq $device} | Get-PnpDeviceProperty -KeyName DEVPKEY_Device_LocationPaths | select -Expand Data
    $vmName = Get-VM | ?{$_.Name -eq $vm}
    if ($vmName){
        Stop-VM -Name $vm -TurnOff -Force
        Set-VM -Name $vm -AutomaticStopAction TurnOff
        Set-VM -GuestControlledCacheTypes $true -Name $vm
        Set-VM -LowMemoryMappedIoSpace 3Gb -Name $vm
        Set-VM -HighMemoryMappedIoSpace 33280Mb -Name $vm

}if ($locationPath){
                Disable-PnpDevice -InstanceId $dev.InstanceId -Confirm:$false

foreach($lp in $locationPath){
                    Dismount-VMHostAssignableDevice -LocationPath $lp -Force -Verbose
                    Add-VMAssignableDevice -VMName $vm -LocationPath $lp -Verbose       
    }}})