PowerShell Remoting ScriptBlock Output Question

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jonathan Warnken Jonathan Warnken 5 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of David Newsom
    David Newsom
    Participant

Howdy,

I am new to using PSRemoting and am using it in a computer lab environment. I understand how to construct a control script to run Invoke-Command but I am stuck on this. I am running this on multiple computers and I have several commands inside the scriptblock. I am looking for results like so: Display output of each computer on screen, example:

Computer1
    command 1 results
    command 2 results
    command 3 results

However what I am getting is this:
    Computer1
    command 1 results
    Computer2
    command 1 results

command 2 results
    command 2 results

command 3 results

If I run with a throttlelimit 1
    then i get the desired results but it's slow...

How can I get the output to be organized under each computer name and not have it all displayed out of order. Attached is a link to view screen shots. Please help me with this. I have spent 3 days searching and testing and am now going out of my mind with data overload and still can't get this to work for me the way I think it should or the way I want it to work.

Download screenshots Link:

https://utexas.box.com/s/kk2vsyiic65d7zw6vhyj9up6swhutegn

Thanks a lot PS1 community.

David

Hello, I think behavior you are observing is by design, you may occasionally get result in desired order, but only because it so happened (if you ever get them in desired order). You could specify -OutVariable, and after that do a quick sort by PScomputername property.

icm server -ScriptBlock {something} -OutVariable var
    $var | sort pscomputername
    Profile photo of Justin King
    Justin King
    Participant