PowerShell Web Access vs AD Cmdlet

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jeremie Lauzier Jeremie Lauzier 1 year, 4 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Jeremie Lauzier
    Jeremie Lauzier

First of all, I'm new with PowerShell and on this site.

I have a project to have PowerShell Web Access configure and be able to do a lot of my work with script when I'm out of the Office.
    So I configure a Windows 2012 R2 (Core), installed the PSWA and the RSAT-AD-PowerShell.

When I do remote on my server, I can use the AC Cmdlet but not in the Web Access.
    The Active Directory Web Services is installed on one of my DC.

The error :

PS C:\Users\adminlevel3\Documents> 
    Get-ADUser -Identity xxxx -Server DCFQDN
    Unable to contact the server. This may be because this server does not exist, it is currently down, or it does not have
     the Active Directory Web Services running.
        + CategoryInfo          : ResourceUnavailable: (xxxx:ADUser) [Get-ADUser], ADServerDownException 
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ActiveDirectoryServer:0,Microsoft.ActiveDirectory.Management.Commands.GetADUser 

If you have ideas, please help !
    Thanks !

Profile photo of tommymaynard

Step away from PowerShell Web Access (PSWA) for a moment. Come back to it (and create your authorization rule(s)) when everything below is working.

As you've witnessed, if you connect to a remote Domain Controller using PowerShell Remoting, you can run cmdlets in the ActiveDirectory module without any problem. As well, you've also seen the problem with PS Remoting to a member server with the AD tools installed, and that you can't run the cmdlets. There's two ways to get around this: one, CredSSP, and two, a PowerShell constrained endpoint. I'm not going to focus on CredSSP since it has security problems, and since we can get around this problem by creating an endpoint.