Problem with DoCMD.runsql

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Rich TheH Rich TheH 1 year, 9 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Rich TheH
    Rich TheH
    Participant

I'm still new to Powershell and am working on the following script. I have an Access database with multiple tables. I have multiple Excel workbooks, using PowerQuery to retrieve new data via and API, that will be loaded into the correct Access tables. Spreadsheets and Tables have the same name. So far I want the script to delete the data in the tables then update with data from the Excel spreadsheet. I have been able to work out how to import multiple files into the corresponding tables. When I tried to add the code to delete the data first, I ran into issues. Currently the 'delete' sql will only delete 1 table, not all 3 in my test code. If I hard code the table names the code will run correctly and delete from all 3 tables, but with a variable only 1 of the tables is emptied.

Hope this formatted correctly...

Thanks in advance for any guidance.
    Rich

$acImport = 0 
    $acSpreadsheetTypeExcel12 = 9 
    # list of excel workbooks with eb data
    # add script "get-childitem" to replace hardcoded values
    $table = 'ScheduleTasks', 'Budget', 'Process_CBVR'

$sql = "DELETE * FROM $($t);"

$a = New-Object -Comobject Access.Application 
    $a.OpenCurrentDatabase("\\kpfs1\Public\shares\cfo\fds\CFM\CFM Shared Files\Reports\database\eBAPI_be.accdb") 

#loop table/spreadhsheet list through import step 

ForEach ($t in $table)
    {
    $a.DoCmd.runsql($sql,$False)
    #$a.DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet($acImport, $acSpreadsheetTypeExcel12, $t, "\\kpfs1\Public\shares\cfo\fds\CFM\CFM Shared Files\Reports\sql source files\tobeimported\$($t).xlsx", $True) 
    }

$a.Quit()

Profile photo of Jack Neff
    Jack Neff
    Participant

What does the output of $table look like when you load it with Get-ChildItem?

Rich TheH
    Participant

Jack,