PS Script to zip same name Files in a directory e.g. PDFs & word document

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A PS Script to zip same name Files in a directory e.g. PDFs & word document

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by

Participant
1 week, 1 day ago.

• Author

Participant
    Topics: 1
    Replies: 3

Hi All,

Hope you all intelligent people are well. i am new to this still learning so you can understand i am no where know PS scripts like you guys. so i thought to request you guys if you could help me. i am looking to write a script where it will zip the same name files into one zip folder for example....

abc_1.pdf, abc_2.pdf, abc_3.pdf, ABC_ltr.doc

def_1.pdf, def_2.pdf, def_3.pdf, def_ltr.doc...and so on

so basically i want to zip all the "abc" file name files into one zip and all the "def" files name into another zip. this is simple i guess for you guys as there is not other criteria of time or date or anything. simply create a zip folder with the same name files and also name the zip folder with the same name.

hope you would be able to help.

Many thanks in advance.

regards

Participant
    Replies: 1530
    Helping Hand

so i thought to request you guys if you could help me. i am looking to write a script where it will zip the same name files into one zip folder for example....

We can surely help but we will not do your job. So you will have to do the actual work. 😉

We are used to get some code to debug. So please show your code and the complete error messages if you get some. (Please format your code as code as described in the very first post on top of the list of posts in this forum: Read Me Before Posting! You'll be Glad You Did! ... and please format the error messages as code as well if you post some)

To get you started you should read the help for Get-ChildItem, Foreach-Object and Compress-Archive.
    You should read each of these help topics completely including the examples to learn how to use them.