PS Script works in ISE not in Console. v3.0

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Venugopal Venugopal 2 years, 1 month ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Venugopal
    Venugopal
    Participant

Hello,

I am new to PS,but have been trying to learn for sometime now.

I've made s script that would
    1.On a new build server, take the important services and export them to c:\Services.txt.
    2.Then keep this task that would run on the server (PS script in scheduled task) to check and verify and possibly try to restart it if found not running.

Problem.
    1.The script executes perfectly in ISE.( after re-opening multiple times, just to clear any cached vars )

2. Script fails badly in Console. Tried STA mode also. ( after re-opening multiple times, just to clear any cached vars )

[b]Script :[/b]

While($true)
    {

Write-Output "Checking Services .........."
    Sleep 2
    $Running =""
    $Running = Get-Service |Where { $_.Status -eq "Running"} | Select-Object Name
    Write-Output $Running | Out-File C:\Users\xxxxx\Scripts\services1.txt
    $failed =""
    $failed = Compare-Object (Get-Content  C:\Users\xxxxx\Scripts\services.txt) -DifferenceObject (Get-Content C:\Users\xxxxxx\Scripts\services1.txt) | where {$_.SideIndicator -eq "< ="}| Select-Object InputObject -ExpandProperty InputObject

If($failed.length -ne "0")
    {
        foreach($fail in $failed)
        {

$fail=$fail.trim()
            Write-Output "Service failed : $fail : Attempting to restart!!"
            Start-Service -Name $fail -Verbose
            sleep 2
            Get-Service -Name $fail

}
    }
    else
    {

Write-Output "Services are running as designed"

}
    sleep 1
    }

[b]Console Output[/b]

" .\AutoServiceBot.ps1
    Checking Services ..........
    Service failed : Name : Attempting to restart!!
    Start-Service : Cannot find any service with service name "Name".
    At C:\Users\xxxxx\Scripts\AutoServiceBot.ps1:26 char:9