Pulling first 17 characters from line

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Forums Archives Forums Archives 5 years, 3 months ago.

• Author

by millerlw at 2012-08-24 10:18:01

Hi,
    I am new to PowerShell, but am making good use of it so far and working on another script to make my job easier. I need to read a text file, pull the first 17 characters from each line(which are MAC address), and put them in another text file behind other text. Or, just add new text BEFORE the 17 characters(MAC addresses) and delete everything after those characters. Here is a sample:

00:21:a0:e2:9b:d5 Alert 1 0 Thu Aug 23 12:05:49 2012
    00:21:a0:e2:9b:dd Alert 1 0 Thu Aug 23 12:20:18 2012
    00:24:c4:1b:3d:43 Alert 3 0 Thu Aug 23 12:15:52 2012

I want to add this "rogue ap classify friendly state external" before the MAC addresses and remove everything AFTER the MAC addresses.

I know I can use get-content to read the file, and I think foreach-object to get the first 17 characters, but cannot figure out the code to get it done.
    The finished file will look like this
    rogue ap classify friendly state external 00:21:a0:e2:9b:d5
    rogue ap classify friendly state external 00:21:a0:e2:9b:dd
    rogue ap classify friendly state external 00:24:c4:1b:3d:43

Or like I said, just add the new text before the MACs and remove everything after, if that's easier than creating another file and writing it all to the new file.
    Currently I do this by hand several times a week, and there are usually hundreds of entries each time I do it, very time consuming and boring.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
    Leonard

by willsteele at 2012-08-24 12:25:59

I hear a lot of various requests. To add data before the MAC Addresses in the first set, you can use the -replace operator with a regular expression anchoring on the start of line with the ^ character. So, let's say you wanted to add code monkey to your first set, you could use this: