Read selected events from the event log

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Shack 4 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

Shack
    Participant

I am new to powershell and need some help.  I am creating a script to be run as a scheduled task at startup to look for event log entries of unexpected shutdown.  I am only interested in the events that occured within the last hour of startup.  If an event is found, an email is sent to the helpdesk.  The script I created works if an entry exists but errors if it does not. It fails because nothing is found to assign to the variable. How can I handle that situation?

$UnexpectedReboot=Get-EventLog -LogName System -EntryType Error -Source EventLog -After (Get-Date).AddHours(-1) -Newest 1
    Send-MailMessage -To Helpdesk@company.com -From "UnexpectedShutdown@company.com" -SmtpServer mailserver.company.com -Subject "Unexpected shutdown: $env:COMPUTERNAME" -Body $UnexpectedReboot.Message

The error is:

Get-EventLog : No matches found
    At line:1 char:19
    + $UnexpectedReboot=Get-EventLog -LogName System -EntryType Error -Source EventLog ...
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : ObjectNotFound: (:) [Get-EventLog], ArgumentException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : GetEventLogNoEntriesFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetEventLogCommand

Don Jones
    Keymaster

It depends on what you'd like to do. You could add -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue to the command, which will suppress the error. You could then check and see if $UnexpectedReboot was empty or not. That'll probably be difficult to do in a one-liner; this would be easier for you if you broke these commands out into a short script.

Art Beane

An alternative would be to add -ErrorAction Stop to your Get-EventLog call and enclose the scriptlet in a Try/Catch block. Since you want to ignore the case where no unexpected reboot occurred, the catch block can be empty.

Shack