Reading from Excel and Exporting to CSV?

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by Profile photo of Forums Archives Forums Archives 5 years, 5 months ago.

• Author

by yodafett at 2012-09-12 14:57:02

Hi all, first time poster.

Disclaimer: I have LITTLE scripting experience, mostly with VB, and more than a couple years ago. But as Powershell is the new hotness, and has a LOT of extra features for SysAdmin, and as such, I'm trying to make a leap.

I have a task of pulling some data from about 700 Excel worksheets and compiling them into a single .CSV file.

The Excel files will all be formatted identically, and it is the same data I need from each one, and the files are named sequentially, which are all bonuses.
    In essence, I need to read cells A1, B2, C3, D3 from file 000001.xlsb, then A1, B2, B3, D3 from 000002.xlsb and export the whole thing into a single .csv file.

I'm somewhat lost about how to even start, frankly.

I've done some google and have bits and pieces, but I'm not getting my head around the logic of pulling it all together.

Obviously, a counter/loop to track how many files have been gone through/how many total... (that part will probably be the easiest part)
    Or more likely something along the lines of:

$Directory = "c:\file_folder\"

Get-ChildItem -path $Directory *.xlsb | ForEach-Object #insert cmdlet/script to extract the data here

I've found how to pull cell data using bits like:
    $XLSDoc = "C:\file_folder\test.xlsb"
    $SheetName = "Sheet1"
    $Excel = New-Object -ComObject "Excel.Application"

$Workbook = $Excel.workbooks.open($XLSDoc)
    $Sheet = $Workbook.Worksheets.Item($SheetName)

$Sheet.Cells.Item(1,1).Text #(row,col)

I assume the best is to store each cell I need as an individual variable, then string them together before appending them to the exported data?