Recursive Function

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Tracey Mr D J Tracey Mr D J 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Tracey Mr D J
    Tracey Mr D J
    Participant

Hi there,

I'm a PowerShell beginner and was watching a PluralSight course on beginning programming, wherein it described the use of recursion within a function to iterate through a directory hierarchy of unknown depth and find all mp3 files. The tutor did this in language-agnostic pseudo-code:

//pseudo-code
    function listMP3Files (string currentFolder)
         for each item in folder:currentFolder
               if (item is mp3)
                    print(name of item)
               end if
               if (item is folder)
                  listMP3Files(name of item)
                end if
            end for
    end function

Now, i tried to replicate this in PowerShell with:

function get-allmp3s {
     Foreach ( $item in Get-ChildItem ) {
    	if ( $item.Name -like "*.mp3") {
    		Write-Host "$item.Name"
    		}
    	elseif ( $item.PSIsContainer -eq $True ) { 
                    get-allmp3s 
                    } 
    	}
    }

...but the script just continually loops through the first folder in the hierarchy (i found this my adding a "Write-Host $item" at the start of the foreach loop.

I am aware the i could use the -Recurse option on Get-ChildItem, but i'm trying to learn how calling a function recursively works.

Thanks for your help.

Dan

• This topic was modified 2 months, 3 weeks ago by Profile photo of Tracey Mr D J Tracey Mr D J.
    Profile photo of Peter Jurgens
    Peter Jurgens
    Participant

What you're missing is a parameter to specify the path you want to search in. With your current function it is simply calling get-childitem in the current location, which will be the same each time you call it, hence it continually runs in the current folder.