• This topic has 3 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 5 months ago by
    Senior Moderator
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 21
      Replies: 32

hi all,

I’m still learning Regex and I cannot figure out how to check if a string is present or not, depending on 2 values.

Reading the registry keys, I need to see if VISSTD or VISPRO is present.

here’s an example: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Office16.VISSTD

I need a regex that would capture either VISSTD (as shown here) or VISPRO. All my attemps are in vain.

Thank you!

Participant
      Topics: 5
      Replies: 2368
      Helping Hand

All my attemps are in vain.

That doesn’t matter. You should show it anyway. We’re much better with tweaking existing code even if it’s poor than writing ready to use code from scratch. 😉

I need a regex that would capture either VISSTD (as shown here) or VISPRO.

The simplest regex pattern would be “VISSTD|VISPRO”.

Participant
      Topics: 21
      Replies: 32

that was so simple.

thanks!

Senior Moderator
      Topics: 3
      Replies: 123
      Helping Hand

You should show it anyway. We’re much better with tweaking existing code even if it’s poor than writing ready to use code from scratch.

Echoing this. It’s hard to troubleshoot blind – and PowerShell has a couple different methods by which regex could be applied, especially depending on what the input looks like (e.g. are you holding the registry subkeys in an array? dumping them into a text file? trying to check them one at a time?)