Replace matched text in Word by a picture

This topic contains 12 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Matt Bloomfield Matt Bloomfield 6 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Florian Schinas
    Florian Schinas
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I have a Powershell script that creates the Outlook signatures automatically retrieving information on AD.

I am having a little trouble (I said I'm no expert in Powershell)

My company has two logos, and here's how I'd like to do (instead of two scripts and two docx)

Without "Comapny" the AD says I Logo1 Logo2 or and in this, I would like an image is placed at the point the text is placed in my template docx.

So I created two variables $ Logo1 and Logo2 $ with the path of the two images. Unfortunately when I do a "ReplaceText" by these two variables, I have the path that appears and not the logo ...

Someone could give me a hand please? 🙂

I do not know how to search images in powershell and I have not found much help on the web.

Thank you in advance !

PS. : Sorry for my bad english :s

Profile photo of Matt Bloomfield
    Matt Bloomfield
    Participant

Can you post the code you're using? It would really help if we could see the script you're using.
    It sounds like you might simply be inserting the text rather than a picture. To insert a picture to a docx with the Word.Application COM object you would use:

$word.Selection.InlineShapes.AddPicture('C:\pictures\companylogo.jpg')

Where $word references an instance of the Word.Application COM object.

Florian Schinas
    Participant

Hi,

You can find my script on this URL : http://textup.fr/157759BE
    I test lot of code, so, all test for the logo is realy bad.

Thanks.

Matt Bloomfield
    Participant

So it looks like you are just replacing "Company" with the string that points to the picture rather than inserting the picture in the document.