Replacing specific numbers in list of numbers

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A Replacing specific numbers in list of numbers

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant
      Topics: 1
      Replies: 0

Hello All!

I’m a bit new to powershell and I’m having trouble and need some guidance on how to accomplish something.

I want to be able to remove specific numbers in a string of numbers.

Say I have this: 608,8,154,266

I’m passing this in and want to remove the 8 and 154 as well as the ,,

Here’s my If:

if (($list -eq “8”) -or ($list -eq “266”)){
      $newlist = $list -Replace “8”, “”
      $newlist = $newlist -Replace “266”, “”
      $newlist = $newlist -Replace “,,”, “,”
      $newlist = $newlist .TrimEnd(“,”)
      $newlist = $newlist .TrimStart(“,”)
      LogWrite “newlist : $newlist ”
      }

I want my list to end up like 608,266 and not 60,266.

I also tried using a trim but can’t seem to get it to work.

Do you have any suggestions on how to help a newby out?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated!

Participant
      Topics: 5
      Replies: 177
      Helping Hand

Is this a single string i.e. “608,8,154,266” or an array of integers?  I’m not exactly sure what you are trying to accomplish but it sounds like it would be much easier to work with an array.  To do so just use the -split operator which will return an array of strings.  Then you can iterate over the array and do whatever you want.  Finally if you need to return a single string just use the -join operator to put it back together.

Participant
      Topics: 17
      Replies: 1869
      Helping Hand

It’s important to understand if it’s a string or an array. Mike shows you how to parse the string into an array and then parse. Mike is also converting it back to a string, but it would be best to explain what you are doing with the output:

Participant
      Topics: 5
      Replies: 177
      Helping Hand