Scenario Training?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dave Wyatt Dave Wyatt 2 years, 10 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Rob Poirier
    Rob Poirier
    Participant

Hey guys,

I'm brand new to PowerShell (The extent of my knowledge is how to spell it). Ok...joking. I've used it a little bit at my job and I've gone through all of the "Getting Started with PowerShell 3.0 Jump Start" videos with Jason Helmick and Jeffry Snover.

For linux, there's a step by step DIY tutorial called the linux zoo (linuxzoo.net). I'm wondering if there's anything similar where it throws me into a shell and get's me to try/troubleshoot/create different things. That's how I learn, by doing. There's not much at my job in terms of a test environment so I was wondering if there was an alternative out there to say...creating a vm and throwing exchange on it etc..

Thanks,

Rob

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

You could look at "Learn Windows PowerShell in a Month of Lunches," which includes labs. There's a lot of non-discoverable complexity in PowerShell that really needs explaining before you just jump into production tasks. It's more complex than traditional shells, but if you skip that stuff it's easy to go wrong.

Profile photo of Istvan Szarka
    Istvan Szarka
    Participant

I've found the 2nd edition of PowerShell in Depth also invaluable. There's an excellent chapter about working with objects in Part 1, I strongly recommend it too!

Profile photo of Rich Beckett
    Rich Beckett
    Participant