Scheduled VM Export

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Robert Gardner Robert Gardner 1 year, 7 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Robert Gardner
    Robert Gardner
    Participant

I am very new to PowerShell. That being said, I have been trying to wrap my head around the script that Jeff Hicks has to schedule xx VM export on a monthly and weekly basis. My problem is that I need the script to export daily and retain the exports for 7 days. Could someone please help. I would be please to do this offline if it is too much for the forum. Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of Jeffery Hicks
    Jeffery Hicks
    Participant

You're going to have to help me out and point me to the original script. That said, if you have that kind of backup requirement, you should look into a commercial product like something from Veeam or Altaro.

Jeffery Hicks
    Participant

I had to Google myself to find this but I think this is the article and script you are referring to: http://www.infoworld.com/article/2610395/windows-server/two-tricks-to-automate-the-export-of-live-vms-in-windows-server.html

Of course it would be possible to modify the script to meet your daily requirements. But if you are really new to PowerShell you will find yourself lost and overwhelmed very quickly. You really need to take the time to learn PowerShell from the beginning and not simply jump into writing PowerShell scripts, at least in my opinion.

All that said, you might be able to simply change the Weekly type to Daily and change the retain variable to 7. Of course you still need to create the corresponding PowerShell scheduled job.

Robert Gardner
    Participant

Thanks for the reply Mr. Hicks, or may I call you Jeff?