Send-MailMessage Error

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Vishal Joshi Vishal Joshi 6 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Vishal Joshi
    Vishal Joshi
    Participant

Hi,
    I am new in powershell, i was trying to send a mail through powershell scripting and i am able to send only for gmail, ymail etc but not for private sector companies mail where i work like comanies mail domain is [email protected].

I have SMTP server for those mails but it thows an error again and again

Exception calling "Send" with "4" argument(s): "Failure sending mail."
    At line:9 char:17
    + $SMTPClient.Send <<<< ($EmailFrom, $EmailTo, $Subject, $Body) + CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [], MethodInvocationException + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DotNetMethodExceptionI was tried lots of methods but it not works. the powershell worsion on my system(os: win 7) is 1.0 Also i tried to execute this script from server end(win server 2008 r2 and 2012)$EmailFrom = "[email protected]" $EmailTo = "[email protected]" $Subject = "Notification from XYZ" $Body = "this is a notification from XYZ Notifications.." $SMTPServer = "smtp.ge.com" $SMTPClient = New-Object Net.Mail.SmtpClient($SmtpServer, 587) $SMTPClient.EnableSsl = $true $SMTPClient.Credentials = New-Object System.Net.NetworkCredential("[email protected]", "************"); $SMTPClient.Send($EmailFrom, $EmailTo, $Subject, $Body)

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

So, you didn't format your code for the forums, making it hard to read.

It looks like you are trying to use SMTP server smtp.ge.com. It is most likely that the server doesn't want to allow you to authenticate from a remote, unknown location. Most private SMTP servers have very strict rules about who can log on to send, and from where, because what you're doing is exactly what illegal spammers do when they want to hijack a server and relay spam mail.