Server Time Check/Compare Script.

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Dave Wyatt 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

John K
    Participant

Hi,

I'm working on a short script to check the time on servers and compare it with "master" server. The script will run as part of a daily check/report so I need to have a "friendly" output from the script. Before reading the script below I should make you aware I'm a noob.

Here's what I was playing with...

# Create a variable for the server that the time will be checked against (Master).
    $srv_master = invoke-command -computer MASTER_TIME -command {get-date}

# Create a variable for the servers that will check their time against the Master.
    $srv_check = invoke-command -computer (Get-Content -path c:\servers.txt) -command {get-date}

# Compare the outputs from the variables above and out put to text file.
    Compare-Object -ReferenceObject $srv_master -DifferenceObject $srv_check | Select-Object -Property InputObject | out-file -filepath C:\time_check.txt

I would like to include the server names in the output text file, does anyone have suggestions on how to achieve this? I'd also appreciate any suggestions on improving the script, but please bare in mind I'm not an advance user and would like to keep the script understandable for me.

I'm pretty sure I need to some how pass the computer name across before the compare-object runs. I'm working on this but thought I would ask for suggestion while I work.

Thanks in advance for and assistance or suggestions.

Dave Wyatt

There are a few things to keep in mind here:

• Get-Date returns a value in the time zone that's configured on the server where the command runs. If you want to compare values against the output of Get-Date from other machines, you should convert them all to Universal time, using one of these two techniques in your Invoke-Command script blocks: (Get-Date).ToUniversalTime() or [DateTime]::UtcNow