Share existing folders under a root share

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jay Montana Jay Montana 1 year, 3 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Jay Montana
    Jay Montana

I'm not very good with PS.

I need to share all users Home drive profile folders under their root file system share. I need to do this to enable some restore capability with a Hitachi product. Each profile folder simply needs to be share with Full control share permissions for 'Everyone.'

I was able to get it working with the 'New-Smbshare' cmd.

This works-

New-smbshare -name TEST -path D:\PATH -FullAccess Everyone

Going further in trying to deal with all profile folders. Some root file systems could have a few hundred profile folders to share.

$RootShare = "\\\c$\fs_jc_users_mz1\FS2-UsersYZ\"

$FolderList = "zso824-Disabled" #((Get-ChildItem $RootShare ) |Sort Name).name

## Exclude Disabled folders, folders that start with #, Exclude Files

ForEach ($Path in $FolderList){
    $LongPath = $RootShare + $Path
    New-smbshare -name $Path -path $LongPath -FullAccess Everyone -WhatIf

Get this error:
    New-smbshare : The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.
    At line:9 char:5
    + New-smbshare -name $Path -path $LongPath -FullAccess Everyone -WhatIf
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (MSFT_SMBShare:ROOT/Microsoft/Windows/SMB/MSFT_SMBShare) [New-SmbShare], CimException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : Windows System Error 123,New-SmbShare

Going further, it looks like I need to use Get-WMI because I am connecting to a Hitachi HDI (Linux based NAS)

Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Share -ComputerName ""

$share = Get-WmiObject Win32_Share -List -ComputerName "prdjcaveuchdi02"

$share.create("\\\c$\marcus", "marcus", 0)