Some basic PS questions:

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Olaf Soyk Olaf Soyk 3 weeks, 1 day ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Peter
    Peter
    Participant

Sorry for these newbie questions but I am new to Powershell.

1.) How do I find out my current Powershell version (under 64bit Win 7)?

2.) What is the newest PowerShell version and how do I download it (not through MS update channel)?

3.) Do PowerShell script files have a certain file extension which (when double clicked) will be executed automatically (similar to traditional *.bat files)?

4.) If I start powershell from START menu a certain start path is shown.

Is there a way to adjust this path to another directory? (or even better automatically to the last used)?

Thank you

Peter

Profile photo of Olaf Soyk
    Olaf Soyk
    Participant

Peter,

welcome to the brighter world of Powershell scripting. 😉 But let me ask something first: Are you familiar with the concept of internet search engines?

1.) How do I find out my current Powershell version (under 64bit Win 7)?

You open a Powershell console or a Powershell ISE and "evaluate" the following variable like this:

$PSVersionTable

Tip: You can start typing "$PSV" and hit Tab – Powershell will extend the variable to its proper name for you.

2.) What is the newest PowerShell version and how do I download it (not through MS update channel)?

Something about 5.1. ..... it even depends on the Windows version you're working with

3.) Do PowerShell script files have a certain file extension which (when double clicked) will be executed automatically (similar to traditional *.bat files)?

Yes. "*.ps1" BUT You cannot run Powershell scripts with a double click. If you need to do something like this you can use shortcuts with the complete command line to run Powershell console including the script path.

4.) If I start powershell from START menu a certain start path is shown. ...