Subfolder file handling

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jose Lopez 1 week ago.

• Author

Jose Lopez
    Participant

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Powershell scripting from scratch and have the following issue (Please excuse any code formatting faux pas!).

I have a script that reads each file in a folder and subsequently creates an OpenSSL signature file for every one. This works a treat if the folder only contains files at the root. The working code looks as follows;

$path = "C:\SCANNED"
    $PriKey ="C:\OpenSSL\PK Store\private.pem"

cd $path

ForEach ($file in Get-ChildItem $path)

{
    C:\openssl\openssl.exe dgst -sha256 -sign $PriKey -out $path"\"$file".sha256" -passin pass: $path"\"$file
    }

The output of this is the original files plus new signature files for each one.

The issue is that I am unable to get it to read through any sub-folders and create the relevant signature files within the same sub-folders (or at all for that matter). I've tried various different Get-ChildItems -Recurse -Files parameters, etc but nothing seems to work.

I'm sure this has a relatively simple(ish) solution to someone more experienced than myself with this. Any help would be gladly appreciated.

Regards,
    Jose

Jon
    Participant

What if you have a third variable of

$files  = get-childitem $path -recurse -force

and then do this

ForEach ($file in $files)

{
    C:\openssl\openssl.exe dgst -sha256 -sign $PriKey -out $path"\"$file".sha256" -passin pass: $path"\"$file
    }

Jose Lopez
    Participant

Hi Jon,

Thank you for the reply. This works great for just files again, but the same issue when I add a sub-folder;

C:\openssl\openssl.exe : C:\SCANNED\SUBFOLDER-1: Permission denied

Cheers,
    Jose

Jose Lopez
    Participant

If I use the -file parameter as below, I get the script to read the contents of the folder.

$files = get-childitem $path -recurse -file -force