Teaching myself Powershell

This topic contains 7 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of bobo bobo 1 year, 10 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of bobo
    bobo
    Participant

Hi there,

I've been hitting Powershell pretty hard for the past 4-5 months. Worked through the lunches book, working on the step-by-step book at the moment, did the MVA video lectures with Snover and Helmick, listening to the Powershell podcast (from the first one in 2007-8)...just basically trying to immerse myself in Powershell and pick up something new everyday.

I'm not in a role right now where I would actually need to use it. I work in a DataCenter as a technician and use my free time (in between break-fixes, decomms, and deployments), to try and study as much as I can and it just doesn't seem to stick. Are there any games or projects that a person who is not an Admin that would help to get a better understanding of it? Or is the only way to continue from book to book? At this point, I've invested too much time to turn back now so one way or another I will learn this. I can see the benefits of Powershell and the potential that I could experience if I can become proficient in Powershell and really want to get better at it.

Thanks in advance for any tips!

Profile photo of Dave Wyatt
    Dave Wyatt

Well, you need to use it for something, even if it's not at work yet. 🙂 I was in a similar situation where my full-time job required very little PowerShell at first, so I just hit the forums (here and on TechNet) and started answering questions. Figuring out how to solve people's problems was a good exercise to help me learn more and stay sharp. In some cases, I would polish up the solutions and release them in a module as well.

Profile photo of Will Anderson
    Will Anderson
    Keymaster

You can also build out a couple of boxes with Hyper V Server 2012 R2. It's an unlimited Server Core eval. I stood up a couple at home to play with.