The specified group already exists, New-ADGroup

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Rob Simmers 2 years, 7 months ago.

• Author

Chris Ediger
    Participant

Powershell Novice here

Making a script to bulk add Global and Local groups. Importing info from .csv. The script will add the first group then error with "The Specified group already exists" on all other entries in file.

Script:
    $filepath = Read-Host "Location of .csv file"
    $CreateTheseGroups = Import-Csv $filepath
    $CreateTheseGroups | New-ADGroup

.csv content
    name,groupcategory,groupscope,path
    GG_Executives,security,global,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    GG_HumanResources,security,global,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    GG_OrderDesk,security,global,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    GG_SalesMarketing,security,global,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    GG_IT,security,global,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    GG_Shipping,security,global,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    DL_Executives_RO,security,domainlocal,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    DL_Executives_RW,security,domainlocal,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    DL_HumanResources_RO,security,domainlocal,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"
    DL_HumanResources_RW,security,domainlocal,"ou=groups,dc=dfslab,dc=local"

Any suggestions?

c.

Chris Ediger
    Participant

I got it, not sure why it had to be this way though

$filepath = Read-Host "Location of .csv file"
    $CreateTheseGroups = Import-Csv $filepath |
    Select-Object name,groupcategory,groupscope,path,@{n="samaccountname";e={$_.name}} |
    New-ADGroup

I had to specify a SamAccountName in addition to the Name. Any explanation for this would be appreciated.

c.

Rob Simmers
    Participant

Are any of the groups larger than 20 characters? I assume what you posted was a example, but the documentation has this little snippet: