using parallel invoke for publishing cpu usage from a serverlist

This topic contains 15 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mikhail Kramnik Mikhail Kramnik 9 months, 4 weeks ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Mikhail Kramnik
    Mikhail Kramnik
    Participant

I am new to PS. Having trouble to understand scriptblock with the invoke-command. Hope someone can help me debug this. Thanks. I am trying to do the following.

$Servers = get-content c:\serverlist.txt

invoke-command – throttlelimit 3 -Scriptblock

{ Get-Wmiobject -computername $Servers win32processor | Measure-Object – property LoadPercentage – Average | Select Average}

Profile photo of Don Jones
    Don Jones
    Keymaster

Ok, so what's the problem?

Mikhail Kramnik
    Participant

missing an argument for parameter 'Scriptblock' :-(. can't run

Don Jones
    Keymaster

So, it's tough to diagnose because you didn't format your code here, but when you run this for real do you have the carriage returns before the opening brace? It needs to be

... -Scriptblock {

With no carriage returns. Additionally, your $servers variable has no meaning in the remote machine. That variable only exists locally. I suspect you meant to use the -computername parameter of Invoke-Command, but you're using it on Get-WmiObject instead.

In this context you don't actually need Invoke-Command. Just use Get-Wmiobject exactly as you've typed it. Add the -AsJob parameter. Good to go

Mikhail Kramnik
    Participant

Thanks for helping, Don, Appreciate. All I wanted was to have PS read the serverlist I keep locally, then remote each server in the serverlist in groups of like 5-10 in parallell and ask them to report back in parallel their cpu usage, hence I have to use invoke-command parallel with Get-Wmiobject and throttle to 5. But it seems that it cannot work due to my poor scripting in the scriptblock. I am not sure how to add -AsJob. Thanks.

Don Jones
    Keymaster

OK.