Using PSSession in a script to run a cmdlet not installed on local machine

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Jon 3 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author

Phil Crombie
    Participant

HI, first post here, so please be gentle.
    I've started to learn Powershell properly after fudging stuff from the internet all the time. So, this is my first attempt at a script from scratch!

Desired outcome – to set the Proxyaddresses attribute of an Active Directory User by using powershell and text prompts (to help service desk change Office 365 alias's)

Problems – When using PSSession, the error returned:

"Start-ADSyncSyncCycle : The term 'Start-ADSyncSyncCycle' is not recognized as the name of a cmdlet, function, script file, or operable program. Check the spelling of the name, or if a path was included, verify that the path is correct and try again."

If I try to connect as a one-liner it connects, then successfully runs

Enter-PSSession -ComputerName server1
    Start-ADSyncSyncCycle -PolicyType Delta
    Exit-PSSession

Can anyone point me in the direction of how I connect and run the Sync command remotely as the Azure AD Connect tool is not installed where I would like to run the script.
    Many thanks in advance.
    🙂

Here is the PS:

cls
    $User = Read-Host -Prompt "Please enter user logon name"
    $NewEmailAd = Read-Host -Prompt "Enter New Email Address"
    $Primary = Read-Host -Prompt "Type 1 for Primary email or 2 for Alias"
    $ShowDetails = Get-ADUser -Identity $User -Properties * | fl Name,SamAccountname,proxyaddresses
    Write-Host -foregroundcolor Green "Current User had the following addresses"
    $ShowDetails

If ($Primary = 1)
    {Set-ADUSer -Identity $User -Add @{Proxyaddresses="SMTP:"+$NewEmailAd}}
    If ($Primary = 2)
    {Set-ADUSer -Identity $User -Add @{Proxyaddresses="smtp:"+$NewEmailAd}}

Enter-PSSession -ComputerName server1

Start-ADSyncSyncCycle -PolicyType Delta
    Exit-PSSession