What is PowerShell made from?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Steve Ayers Steve Ayers 1 year ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Steven Ayers
    Steven Ayers

I decided to begin learning C# – I'm not a developer by trade, but I enjoy "coding" in PowerShell and making apps with it (I can imagine how hilarious our software development department would find that statement) so I wanted to explore programming and in turn, making powershell. I have made PowerShell modules with PowerShell, and I want to try making some Powershell Modules in C#.

I wanted to have a nosey around the PowerShell folder, and see how Jeffrey Snover and the team have done it, but obviously everything is compiled. So, I wanted to know if the PowerShell source code is available anyway?

I had another question.

I have made GUI's in PowerShell, one of my packages is about 5,000 lines... which in PowerShell is a lot in my opinion! Tab controls, Progress bars etc, however, it's hard to develop it into much more, as Powershell is a single thread process. A Powershell studio trial helped me get a few of the basics in place, but I wanted to find out if there's a way I could incorporate a C# front end, so I could have an interactive application while processes run, while still using my PowerShell code?

I can imagine that if I was to try rewriting all the functional code in the background in C#, it wouldn't be done until 2020!

Really long post, and waffled a bit, but I'd love to see people's thoughts and knowledge on this 🙂

Profile photo of Dave Wyatt
    Dave Wyatt

PowerShell itself is not open-source, but you can easily decompile .NET DLLs into fairly readable C# code using ILSpy, dotPeek, or Reflector. (The first two are free.)