Wild cards in an array

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Curtis Smith Curtis Smith 1 year, 3 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of Bryan Sapen
    Bryan Sapen
    Participant

OK, real newbie here, I would like to compare an array that contains wild cards with the results from a cmdlet.

For example,

$ListOfNames = @("_a*", "_b*", "_c*", "_d*")
    get-something | where {($_.somename -notin $ListOfNames)}

I know this is not supported but I'm looking for anyway to accomplish this.

Thanks...

Profile photo of David Johnson
    David Johnson
    Participant

Nice question. Here's how I would solve it:

$ListOfNames = @("_a*", "_b*", "_c*", "_d*")

get-something | Where { 
        @(Foreach ($Check in $ListofNames) {
        $_.SomeName -notlike $Check
        }) -notcontains $False

}

Change the 'Where' to a 'ForEach' to get an indication of what's happening.

Profile photo of Curtis Smith
    Curtis Smith
    Participant

I would use Select-String and regular expressions as search patterns

$ListOfNames = @("^a","^b","^n")
    dir | Where-Object {$_.Name | Select-String -Pattern $ListOfNames}

Results similar to:

Mode                LastWriteTime     Length Name                                                                                                                                                                               
    ----                -------------     ------ ----                                                                                                                                                                               
    -a---         5/21/2013   3:13 PM      28163 Available Storage.xml