Windows Updates Pending - using PS and VB - Help required.

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of John K John K 1 year, 10 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of John K
    John K
    Participant

Hi,

I've been trying to find a script that can check a number of servers for pending updates. Some of these servers don't have PS installed so I figured I could try and use vbs a long side PS. The problem is I have no vbs knowledge 🙂

A lot of the PS scripts and vbs I found were doing a lot more than I actually require. I managed to find a script that contained a part which was exactly what I need and with help from a colleague we extracted the part I require.

The problem I have is it's not always working and when it fails on one server it doesn't continue. When it works it's perfect.

Here's what I'm using PS for:
    # Variable listing servers
    $servers = Get-Content c:\servers.txt

# Calling up the .vbs to run against the servers contained in the variable,and outputting to .txt.
    CSCRIPT.exe C:\Update_pending.vbs $servers > C:\pending_updates.txt

Here's the vbs, and as mentioned it's butchered from another bigger script.
    '# ServerPendingUpdates.vbs
    '#
    '# Usage: cscript ServerPendingUpdates.vbs {servername} {servername} {servername} {servername}
    '# If no {servername} specified then 'localhost' assumed
    '#
    '# To do: Error handling
    '#
    Option Explicit
    Dim strServer : strServer = GetArgValue(0,"localhost")

'#
    '# Loop through the input parameters for each server
    '#
    Dim i
    For i = 0 To WScript.Arguments.Count – 1
    CheckServerUpdateStatus GetArgValue(i,"localhost") 'strServer
    Next

WScript.Quit(0)

Function CheckServerUpdateStatus( ByVal strServer )

WScript.Echo vbCRLF & "Connecting to " & strServer & " to check software update status..."

Dim blnRebootRequired : blnRebootRequired = False
    Dim blnRebootPending : blnRebootPending = False