Working with SharePoint Library Folders and Permissions

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of David David 1 year, 8 months ago.

• Author
    Profile photo of David
    David
    Participant

OK, I am not sure that I am going about some of this the right way. I am very new to PowerShell and trying to learn and there is no one that I work with very fluent with PowerShell or with SharePoint scripting. I have a project where there are +-160 folders in a SharePoint library. Each folder is named after a current user as LName, FName, MI. Each folder should have unique permissions for one user plus some sub-folders for their manager. No one regular user should have access to any other folder but his own. I have put together a script that will use a text file with columns of information pulled from Active Directory that includes Surname, GivenName, Initials, SamAccountName, and Manager. What I want to do is to match or compare the SharePoint folder name with the users' information and if it matches, use the SamAccountName to read permissions for the user for only that folder with subfolders and then break permissions inheritance for the folders.
    I started out using Active Directory cmdlets in my code and then I thought maybe some of that was the problem, but my problem is matching and then giving permissions. I then used the AD command that I needed to get the information and dumped it into a csv file and then started using that file in my code to pull the user information from. Could someone help me out with some of this please??????

Profile photo of Matt McNabb
    Matt McNabb
    Participant

I don't have an on-prem sharepoint I can test this against, but maybe we can figure this out.

Right out of the gate, your name matching will not work. You should use -eq instead of -match:

If ($Folder.Field.FullName -eq "$($User.GivenName) $($User.Surname)")