WriteDebugStream during AD Inventory collection

Welcome Forums General PowerShell Q&A WriteDebugStream during AD Inventory collection

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by

Keymaster
4 weeks ago.

• Author

Participant

I am a domain administrator and was running the following script to collect assorted properties of Users in our 3 domain forest.

$creds = Get-Credential
    #dump all User to a variable
        $AllUsers = ForEach ($domain in ((Get-ADForest).domains)) { get-aduser -filter * -server $domain -Credential $creds -properties `
     displayname,samaccountname,cn,distinguishedname,whencreated,whenchanged,enabled,passwordlastset, passwordneverexpires,lockedout,cannotchangepassword,passwordnotrequired }
    #dump all records to a .csv file
        $AllUsers | Export-Csv .\AllUsers_corp.csv -NoTypeInformation

...but when I view the resulting .csv, some of the columns are labeled

WriteDebugStream

with a value of

Microsoft.ActiveDirectory.Management.ADPropertyValueCollection

Yet, I do get all of my properties.

What is causing the other errors? Is it because I am not an Enterprise Admin?

Thanks

Keymaster

So, to neaten this up a bit:

$creds = Get-Credential

ForEach ($domain in ((Get-ADForest).domains)) {

get-aduser -filter * -server $domain -Credential $creds -properties `

displayname,samaccountname,cn,distinguishedname,whencreated,whenchanged,enabled,passwordlastset, passwordneverexpires,lockedout,cannotchangepassword,passwordnotrequired |

Export-Csv .\AllUsers_corp.csv -NoTypeInformation -Append

}

Because I'm not certain what value you're getting from saving it all in a variable. I suspect Get-ADUser is indeed having some kind of problem, but I'm not sure why it... like, I've not seen it to that before :). I'd add some debugging information.

$creds = Get-Credential

$VerbosePreference="Continue"

ForEach ($domain in ((Get-ADForest).domains)) {

Write-Verbose "Working on $domain"